Royal Society King Charles II Medal

The King Charles II Medal may be awarded by Council to any foreign Head of State, any foreign Head of Government, or any holder of another position of similar eminence for their contribution to the promotion, advancement, or use of science for the benefit of society, normally at the Society on the occasion of a visit by the recipient.

Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam, President of the Republic of Singapore (2011 - 2017) was awarded the Royal Society King Charles II Medal in 2014.

Sir Paul Nurse, former President of the Royal Society, said:

"President Tan has been associated with a transformation in Singaporean research and education over the course of his career, and has served the scientific community in many roles. Singapore has proved to be one of the success stories of global science and innovation and it is widely recognised as one of the world’s leading nations in science and mathematics education. The Royal Society is delighted to be able to recognise the contribution President Tan has made to science and education in Singapore today."

Premier Wen Jiabao of China was awarded the Royal Society King Charles II Medal in 2011.

The award

This medal is awarded to foreign Heads of State or Government who have made an outstanding contribution to furthering scientific research in their country.

The award is made only in exceptional circumstances and is normally presented on the occasion of a formal state visit. The first award was made in 1998.

The speeches given by Chancellor Angela Merkel (PDF) and by Mr Wen Jiabao are also available.

The medal is of silver gilt.


Unlike for other medals and awards, nominations for the Royal Society King Charles II Medal are not invited. Instead, Fellows may, at any time, propose names of potential recipients to the Physical Secretary alongside a supporting statement. The medal is awarded at the discretion of Council.

Past winners

  • blank avatar
    Awarded in 2014

    President Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam of Singapore

  • blank avatar
    Awarded in 2011

    Premier Wen Jiabao of China

  • blank avatar
    Awarded in 2010

    Chancellor Angela Merkel of Germany

  • blank avatar
    Awarded in 2007

    President APJ Abdul Kalam of India