Royal Society Mullard Award

This award is made to individuals whose work has the potential to make a contribution to national prosperity

  • Opening date

  • Closing date

  • Winners announcement

    Date subject to confirmation

The award

The Royal Society Mullard Award was provided by a gift to the Society by the Board of Directors of Mullard Ltd. The Mullard Award is awarded to those who have an outstanding academic record in any area of natural science, engineering or technology and to individuals or teams whose work has the potential to make a contribution to national prosperity. The medal is of silver gilt medal, is awarded on the occasion of a suitable candidate being identified by the award's selection committee, and is accompanied by a travel grant of £1,500 and a gift of £2,000.


The Royal Society Mullard award is open to UK/Commonwealth/Republic of Ireland citizens or those who have been residents for three or more years. There are no restrictions on career stage and nominations will remain valid and shall be considered by the award selection committee throughout three nomination cycles. Teams or groups may now be nominated for this award.

Nominations are closed

Nominations will reopen in November 2024.

Past winners

  • blank avatar
    Awarded in 2022

    Professor Graeme Milligan

    For his global leadership in pharmacological and translational studies, his successful "spinning-out" of academic research and his longstanding underpinning support for the bio-pharmaceutical industry.
  • blank avatar
    Awarded in 2021

    Professor Stephen Davies

    For his long and successful record in converting brilliant academic ideas to commercial successes with world impact in the biotech sector.
  • Stephen Jackson
    Awarded in 2020

    Professor Stephen Jackson FMedSci FRS

    For pioneering research on DNA repair mechanisms and synthetic lethality that led to the discovery of olaparib, which has reached blockbuster status for the treatment of ovarian and breast cancers.
  • Hagan Bayley
    Awarded in 2019

    Professor Hagan Bayley FRS

    For the invention of stochastic nanosensing, a generalised sequencing method for biopolymers which has delivered ultrarapid, distributable, wide-scale, 'long-read' genome sequencing.