New Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships for 2011 announced

08 November 2011

The Royal Society, the UK’s national academy of science, has announced the appointment of 6new Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows (DHFs) for 2011. The scientists started taking up their new posts at institutions across the UK in October.

The Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowship scheme supports excellent scientists and engineers at an early stage of their career. It is designed to help successful candidates progress to permanent academic positions across the UK. It is aimed specifically at researchers who require a flexible working pattern and is particularly popular with female scientists.

The new DHFs are working on projects which include studying hepatitis C virus delivery to the liver and the development of a miniature wide-band radiometer that has applications terrestrially and in space.

The full list of appointments is as follows:

Dr Paula Alexandre - King's College London          

Identifying the self-renewal mechanisms of neural progenitors and Stem Cells

Dr MariaGimenez Lopez - University of Nottingham        

Nano-Magnets in Carbon Nanostructures

Dr Sohini Kar-Narayan - University of Cambridge  

Electrocaloric effects in ferroelectrics

Dr Zania Stamataki - University of Birmingham       

Hepatitis C virus delivery to the liver: distinct strategies used in B & T cells

Dr Hanna Sykulska-Lawrence - University of Oxford         

A Novel Miniature Wide-band Radiometer for Terrestrial and Space Applications

Dr Patricia Sanchez-Baracaldo - University of Bristol         

Cyanobacteria’s impact on nutrient cycles and climate change in early earth

For further information on any of the projects listed above or to arrange interviews with the scientists appointed please contact the Royal Society press office.