Peter Higgs FRS wins Nobel Prize for Physics

08 October 2013

Responding to news that Peter Higgs, a Fellow of the Royal Society, and Francois Englert have been awarded the 2013 Nobel Prize for Physics, John Pethica, Physical Secretary and Vice-President of the Royal Society, said:

“Peter Higgs and Francois Englert are deserving winners of the Nobel Prize. Their work has helped shape our fundamental understanding of the world around us.  The search for and finding of the Higgs boson at the Large Hadron Collider in CERN has captured the public imagination in a spectacular way that will help inspire the next generation of physicists. Their ideas have helped drive a truly international undertaking in the pursuit of a key part of the standard model. We should be proud of another success for a British scientist.”