Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships for 2014 announced

19 September 2014

The Royal Society has announced the appointment of nine new Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows (DHFs) for 2014. The Research Fellows take up their new posts at institutions across the UK from October.

The Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowship scheme supports outstanding scientists and engineers at an early stage of their career. It is designed to help successful candidates progress to permanent academic positions across the UK. It is aimed specifically at researchers who require a flexible working pattern and is particularly popular with female scientists.

The new DHFs are working on projects which include new physics searches relating to the Higgs boson and developing a 20-minute cardiac MRI examination for child patients.

Three of this year’s fellowships are funded by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) as part of a new collaboration to support Royal Society research fellows who are working within EPSRC’s priority areas.

Professor Philip Nelson, EPSRC’s Chief Executive, said: “We are proud to be working in partnership with the Royal Society and supporting three Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships this year. This collaboration means we can invest in the next generation of leaders and simultaneously promote improved equality of opportunity in science and engineering.”

Professor Sir John Skehel, Vice-President of the Royal Society, said: “We are pleased to announce the first set of Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships to be supported by our new partnership with the EPSRC. This partnership has enabled us to award three additional fellowships to outstanding early career scientists this year.”

The full list of appointments is as follows:

Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows

Dr Lily Asquith – Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Sussex

New physics searches and Higgs coupling measurements with ATLAS

Dr Livia Bartok-Partay – Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge

High throughput computation of phase diagrams

Dr Yaara Erez – MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge

Focused Attentional States in Complex Cognitive Tasks

Dr Elin McCormack – RALSpace, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

Remote sensing of electric fields using Stark spectroscopy

Dr Amanda Sferruzzi-Perri –  Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience, University of Cambridge

Materno-fetal resource allocation; altering placental endocrine function by IGF2

Dr Giulia Zanetti – Institute of Structural and Molecular Biology, Birkbeck College, University of London

Role of COPII vesicle coat in trafficking of procollagen and its regulation

To be funded by EPSRC as Royal Society-EPSRC Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows

Dr Cristina Manolache – Department of Mathematics, Imperial College London

Virtual Calculus

Dr Beatriz Olmos Sanchez – School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Nottingham

Long-range interactions and collective dissipation in ultracold atomic lattices

Dr Jennifer Steeden – Institute of Cardiovascular Science, University College London

Towards the 20-minute cardiac magnetic resonance pediatric examination