New Royal Society Leverhulme Trust Senior Research Fellowship appointments announced

08 August 2014

The Royal Society, the UK’s national academy of science, has announced the appointment of seven new Royal Society Leverhulme Trust Senior Research Fellowship holders.

Funded by the Leverhulme Trust, the scheme is designed for scientists who would benefit from a period of full-time research without teaching and administrative duties. The scheme reimburses the employing institution with the full salary cost of a teaching replacement.  Fellowships cover all areas of the life and physical sciences, including engineering, but excluding clinical medicine.

The newly appointed fellowship holders are working on a wide variety of projects including novel mathematics for anti-viral therapy, and understanding the interactions between ice and ocean at the margins of glaciers in southeast Greenland.
The full list of appointments is as follows:
Professor Richard Apps
University of Bristol
Optogenetic dissection of cerebellar circuits
Dr Richard Curry
University of Surrey
The p to n revolution in non-equilibrium doped chalcogenides: moving forward
Professor Alistair Hetherington
University of Bristol
Signalling systems in space and time
Professor Jonathan Keating
University of Bristol
Arithmetic functions in function fields and random matrix theory
Professor Tavi Murray
Swansea University
Ice-ocean interactions at the margins of SE Greenland's tidewater glaciers
Dr Sophie Schirmer
Swansea University
New paradigms for magnetic resonance molecular imaging via quantum control
Professor Reidun Twarock
University of York
Novel mathematics for anti-viral therapy and evolution
The Leverhulme Trust was established in 1925 under the Will of the First Viscount Leverhulme with the instruction that its resources should be used to support “scholarships for the purposes of research and education.” More information is available from