Skip to content
About the Royal Society

John O'Keefe FRS wins 2014 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

06 October 2014

Responding to the news that John O’Keefe FRS, May-Britt Moser and Edvard Moser have been awarded the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, Paul Nurse, President of the Royal Society, said:

“Congratulations to John O’Keefe, a Royal Society Fellow, May-Britt Moser and Edvard Moser, deserving winners of the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. They have made an outstanding contribution to neuroscience with their discovery of what has been described as an “inner GPS” system in the brain that allows us to position ourselves and navigate our surrounding environment. This is great recognition for their important work and the Royal Society congratulates all three on their success.”

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.