Royal Society Fellow wins Nobel Prize in Physics 2015

06 October 2015

Canadian scientist, Professor Arthur B. McDonald FRS, has won the Nobel Prize in Physics 2015 for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass.

He shares the Prize with Japanese physicist Takaaki Kajita. 

Sir Martyn Poliakoff, Vice President and Foreign Secretary of the Royal Society said:

“Neutrinos are one of the fundamental particles which make up our universe and the important work that Royal Society Fellow, Arthur B. McDonald has done has helped us reach a greater understanding of them.  I am delighted to hear that Professor McDonald has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics and offer the Royal Society’s congratulations to both him and Takaaki Kajita on this very great achievement.”