Royal Society announces recipients of prestigious Wolfson Research Merit Awards

27 October 2015

The Royal Society, the UK’s national academy of science, has announced the appointment of 15 new Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award holders.

Jointly funded by the Wolfson Foundation and the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS), the scheme aims to provide universities with additional support to enable them to attract science talent from overseas and retain respected UK scientists of outstanding achievement and potential. 

The full list of appointments is as follows:

Professor Sharon Ashbrook - University of St Andrews
Exploiting NMR spectroscopy: Local structure and disorder in solids

Professor Martyn Chipperfield - University of Leeds
Sources and Impacts of Short-Lived Atmospheric Halogens

Dr Andrea Cooper - University of Leicester
Determining the factors impacting expression of immunity in the lung

Professor Thomas Krauss - University of York
Wavelength-scale biosensors to explore Biology at the level of individual cells

Professor Edmund Linfield - University of Leeds
Integrated terahertz systems - from next generation sources to applications

Professor Matthias Marti - University of Glasgow
Stage differentiation in malaria parasites

Professor Andrew McAinsh - University of Warwick
Mechanics of chromosome segregation in human cells

Professor Colin McInnes - University of Glasgow
Ultra-low energy trajectories for near Earth asteroid capture and return

Professor Andre Neves - Imperial College London
Instability in Geometry

Professor Dimitrios Nikolopoulos - Queen's University of Belfast
Principles and Practice of Near Data Computing (NDC)

Professor Chris Pickard - University of Cambridge
Automated computational materials discovery: building on random search

Professor Christopher Schofield- University of Oxford
Structural, functional, and mechanistic studies on oxygenases

Professor William Sloan - University of Glasgow
Ecologically engineering the next generation of environmental biotechnologies

Professor David Spring - University of Cambridge
Drugging the Undruggable: Discovery of Protein-Protein Interaction Modulators

Professor Lucy Walker - University College London
Exploring new biomarkers for the prediction and therapy of Type 1 Diabetes

The Wolfson Foundation is a grant-making charity established in 1955. Funding is given to support excellence in the fields of science and medicine, health and disability, education and the arts and humanities. The Wolfson Foundation is celebrating its 60th anniversary in 2015.