Skip to content


Fellows Directory

Ajay Sood

Ajay Sood

Professor Ajay Sood FRS


Elected: 2015


Ajay Kumar Sood is a professor in the Department of Physics at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India. He was President of Indian Academy of Sciences from 2010 to 2012, and is now Secretary General of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS). His research interests include the physics of nanosystems and soft matter. Ajay has published more than 350 papers in peer-reviewed journals and holds a number of patents. He is also an Executive Editor of the international journal, Solid State Communications.

His work has been recognised by many awards, including the Padma Shri, a civilian honour, and the National Award in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology from the Government of India. He has also received the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, the G. D. Birla Award for Scientific Research, the TWAS Prize in Physics, the Millennium Gold Medal of the Indian Science Congress Association, the Sir C. V. Raman Award of the UGC, the Homi Bhabha Medal of the Indian National Science Academy and the G. M. Modi Award for Science and Technology, among others.

Professional positions

Honorary Professor , Jawaharlal Nehru Centre For Advanced Scientific Research
Secretary General , TWAS, the academy of sciences for the developing world

Interest and expertise


Soft condensed Matter, Physics of nanosystems, Experimental Non-equilibrium Physics, Raman spectroscopy, Ultrafast spectroscopy

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.