Skip to content
Fellows Directory

Jim Al-Khalili

Jim Al-Khalili

Professor Jim Al-Khalili OBE FRS


Elected: 2018




Jim Al-Khalili is a theoretical physicist at the University of Surrey where he holds a joint chair in physics and in the public engagement in science. He received his PhD in nuclear reaction theory in 1989 and has published over 100 papers in the field. His current interest is in the application of quantum mechanics in biology and, together with colleagues, has set up the world’s first doctoral training centre in quantum biology at Surrey. 

Jim is a prominent author and broadcaster. He has written 14 books, between them translated into twenty-six languages. He is a regular presenter of TV science documentaries and for the past seven years has hosted the award-winning weekly BBC Radio 4 programme, The Life Scientific

Jim is president elect of the British Science Association, a trustee of the Institute of Physics and on the judging panel of the Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering. He is a recipient of the Royal Society Michael Faraday medal, the Institute of Physics Kelvin Medal and the Stephen Hawking Medal for Science Communication. He received an OBE in 2007 for ‘services to science’.

Professional positions

Professor of Physics and Professor of Public Engagement in Science, Department Of Physics, University of Surrey

Interest and expertise

Subject groups

  • Mathematics
    • Applied mathematics and theoretical physics
  • Astronomy and physics
    • Quantum theory
  • Other
    • History of science, Science policy


Foundations of quantum mechanics, History of Science, Nuclear reaction theory, Public Engagement, Quantum few body problems, Scattering theory, Science Policy


  • Michael Faraday Prize and Lecture

    No citation available for this award.

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.