Skip to content



Organised by Professor Janet Thornton FRS, Professor Andrew Blake FRS, Dr Francoise Combes Member ADS and Professor Tim Palmer FRS   

In association with the Académie des sciences   

With support from Microsoft Research   

Over the last four years the Royal Society and the Académie des sciences, with support from Microsoft Research, have awarded an annual prize to honour those scientists whose developments of novel computational methods have had a major impact in their area of scientific discovery. This meeting brings together these award winners, with leading scientists at the forefront of their disciplines, ranging from astrophysics and climate prediction, to genome biology and human variation.  This meeting will explore the similarities and differences between the computational approaches across different disciplines and highlight potential synergies, whereby one discipline can borrow from another to speed up the process of discovery.

The draft programme is available here.

Speakers and Chairs include:

Professor Nicholas Ayache, French Research Institute in Computer Science and Control(2008 award winner)
Dr Ewan Birney, European Bioinformatics Institute
Dr Peer Bork, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (2009 award winner)
Dr Dennis Bray, University of Cambridge (2006 award winner)
Professor Stephen Emmott, Microsoft Research
Professor Giorgio Parisi, University of Rome (2007 award winner)
Professor Neil Ferguson, Imperial College
Professor Julia Slingo, Met Office
Professor Matthias Steinmetz, Astrophysical Institute Potsdam

Further information about the Royal Society and Académie des sciences Microsoft Award