Skip to content

Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize

Call for entries

The call for entries for the 2021 Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize is now open.

Winner 2020

Explaining Humans: What Science Can Teach Us about Life, Love and Relationships (Viking) by postdoctoral scientist and debut author Dr Camilla Pang is the 33rd winner of the Royal Society Science Book Prize, sponsored by Insight Investment.

Explore the shortlist

About the prize

Since 1988, the Royal Society has celebrated outstanding popular science writing and authors. Over the decades, the Prize has celebrated some notable winners including Bill Bryson and Stephen Hawking, and most recently Caroline Criado Perez for bringing together compelling data showing gender biases in our world.

Each year our panel of expert judges, comprising eminent scientists, authors, journalists and broadcasters, choose the book that they believe makes popular science writing compelling and accessible to the public.

Find out more about the prize. For all enquiries please contact  


25 March 2021
Call for entries closes
June 2021
Judging panel announced
September 2021
Shortlist announced
October 2021
Winner announced

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.