Thank You to our Supporters

The Society would like to thank all of its supporters who generously made a donation in 2011/12.

The Society is grateful to all those who have made donations and pledges of support to the Society during the period 1 April 2011 – 31 March 2012. The generosity of those listed below, as well as those who have chosen to remain anonymous, is deeply appreciated.

We would particularly like to acknowledge those members of the Presidents’ Circle who have supported the Society during this period.

Presidents' Circle Members

Lord Sainsbury Of Turville FRS

Professor Howard Morris FRS

AstraZeneca plc

BP plc

Pfizer Inc

Rolls-Royce Group plc

Shell UK

EP Abraham Cephalosporin Fund

Hauser-Raspe Foundation

International Development Research Centre

K.C. Wong Education Foundation

Qatar Foundation

The Daiwa Anglo-Japanese Foundation

The Gatsby Charitable Foundation

The Kavli Foundation

The Kohn Foundation

The Leverhulme Trust

The Ogden Trust

The Sino-British Fellowship Trust

The Wolfson Foundation

The Worshipful Company of Actuaries

Dr Antonio-José Femenías Cañuelo

Dr Elizabeth Graham

Dr Hermann Hauser CBE FREng FRS

Dr Ian Young OBE FREng FRS

Dr Jeffrey Watkins FMedSci FRS

Dr Jim Smith FMedSci FRS

Dr John Lund CBE FRS

Dr Laurence George

Dr Malcolm Gray

Dr Peter Duncumb FRS

Lady Christine Bondi

Lady Hazel Woodruff

Miss Emma Grant

Mr Benjamin Gravestock

Mr Bernard Taylor DL

Mr Clive Narainen

Mr Daniel Whittle

Mr David Sparks

Mr En Ming Teo

Mr Greg Fairley

Mr Jason Standing

Mr John Dalessio III

Mr Keith Moore

Mr Mark Morris

Mr Martin Perkins

Mr Matthew Jarrett

Mr Michael Hancocks

Mr Phillip Hyett

Mr Redmond Lee

Mr Reinalt Vaughan-Williams

Mr Robert Dixon

Mr Robert Ward

Mrs Eleanor Pease

Mrs Helen Paige

Mrs Hiromi Hamada-Coleman

Mrs Judith Gibson

Mrs Kathleen Beverton

Mrs Natalia Benjamin

Mrs Shirley Zangwill

Mrs Tracey Olsen

Mrs Trixie Preston

Professor Antony Hewish FRS

Professor Bruce Joyce FRS

Professor Bryan Clarke FRS

Professor Chintamani Rao FRS

Professor Grigory Barenblatt ForMemRS

Professor Harry Bryden FRS

Professor Ian Grant FRS

Professor Ian Smith FRS

Professor James F Tait FRS

Professor Jeremiah Ostriker ForMemRS

Professor John Dowell FRS

Professor John Willis FRS

Professor L E Fraenkel FRS

Professor Leslie Iversen CBE FRS

Professor Martin Vessey CBE FMedSci FRS

Professor Michele Parrinello ForMemRS

Professor Robert Lloyd FRS

Professor Roger Cashmore FRS

Professor Susan Rees FRS

Professor Tom Meade FMedSci FRS

Professor Walter Hayman FRS

Sir Alan Battersby FRS

Sir Brian Greenwood CBE FMedSci FRS

Sir David Cox FRS

Sir Geoffrey Allen FREng FRS

Sir James Gowans CBE FMedSci FRS

Sir John Enderby CBE FRS

Sir Paul Nurse FMedSci PRS

Sir Peter Williams CBE FREng FRS

Sir Philip Cohen FMedSci FRS

Sir Ravinder Maini FMedSci FRS

Sir Rex Richards FRS

Sir Tom Blundell FMedSci FRS

Sir Walter Bodmer FMedSci FRS


Elsevier B.V. (Corporate Office)

ERA Foundation

Euspen Ltd

Institute of Mathematics & its Applications

Institute of Physics

L'Oréal (UK) Limited

London Mathematical Society

Open University

Renishaw plc

Rolex Awards

Royal Statistical Society

Taylor Hobson Ltd

Winton Capital Management

Trusts and Foundations

29th May 1961 Charitable Trust

Clore Duffield Foundation

Fundación Príncipe de Asturias

Michael and Morven Heller Charitable Foundation

The Cookson Charitable Trust

The Croucher Foundation

The David and Lucile Packard Foundation

The Ian Karten Charitable Trust

The Nuffield Foundation

Wellcome Trust

The Society is grateful for those bequests received and to those who have supported the Society in memory of others.

Dr Sydney Andrew FREng FRS (DECEASED)

Mr Felton Downes (DECEASED)

Mr John Brooks (DECEASED)

Mrs Muriel Childs (DECEASED)

Professor Richard Keynes CBE FRS (DECEASED)

Sir Gabriel Horn FRS (DECEASED)

Our mission

To recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity.

Our priorities

  • Promoting science and its benefits
  • Recognising excellence in science
  • Supporting outstanding science
  • Providing scientific advice for policy
  • Fostering international and global cooperation
  • Education and public engagement