Skip to content

Kavli Medal and Lecture

Image of the interior of the Joint European Torus fusion facility, operated by UKAEA at Culham Science Centre. Credit: EUROfusion

 The award

The Kavli Medal and Lecture is now awarded annually for excellence in all fields of science and engineering relevant to the environment. The medal is of bronze gilt and is accompanied by a gift of £1,000.

There are no restrictions on the age of nominees, but it is anticipated that the award will be made to a Recipient with a maximum of 15 years or equivalent post PhD by the closing date of the round. Nominees who have taken a career break will also be considered.

Past winners

Professor Ian Chapman will be awarded the Kavli Medal and Lecture 2019 at his prize lecturefor his scientific insight that has illuminated the complex physics of confined plasmas and prepared the way for fusion burn.

Professor Edward Hawkins was awarded the Kavli Medal and Lecture 2018 for his significant contributions to the understanding and quantifying natural climate variability and long-term climate change, and for actively communicating climate science and its various implications with broad audiences

Professor Henry Snaith FRS was awarded the Kavli Medal and Lecture in 2017  for his discovery and development of highly efficient perovskite solar cells which promise to dramatically increase the efficiency and reduce the cost of solar energy. 

See full list of all past winners of the Kavli Medal and Lecture


Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.