Skip to content


Nominations for the following awards have now closed. The next call for nominations will open in November 2015.

Biological sciences


Physical sciences


Interdisciplinary sciences

  • Royal Medal
    Given for an important discovery in the interdisciplinary sciences.
  • Gabor Medal
    For interdisciplinary work between the life sciences with other disciplines.


Science communication


Promoting women in science


History, philosophy and social function of science

  • Wilkins-Bernal-Medawar Lecture
    Awarded to give a lecture in a field of the history of science, the philosophy of science or the social function of science.


Medals, awards and prize lectures may not be made to any of the following at the time when Council decides who shall be the recipient:

  • Members of the Council of the Royal Society.
  • Any person on the selection committee of the relevant award at the time when the Committee makes its recommendations to Council.
  • Other exclusions for specific awards, are listed on their web page.

For further information about nominations please email