Skip to content

Rosalind Franklin Award and Lecture

Rosalind Franklin

Rosalind Franklin Award winner 2017

Essi VidingProfessor Essi Viding

The 2017 Rosalind Franklin Award is awarded to Professor Essi Viding for her achievements in the field of experimental psychology, her ability to communicate with the public and her imaginative project proposal.

Professor Viding will receive a medal of silver gilt at the Rosalind Franklin Award Lecture in October 2017.

The award

The award is supported by the Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) and is named in honour of the biophysicist Rosalind Franklin, who made critical contributions to the understanding of the fine molecular structures of DNA. The award was first made in 2003.

The medal is of silver gilt and is accompanied by a grant of £30,000. The recipient of the award is expected to spend a proportion of the grant on implementing a project to raise the profile of women in STEM in their host institution and/or field of expertise in the UK. 

Nominations for the Royal Society Rosalind Franklin Award 2018 will open in November.

Past winners

Professor Jo Dunkley was awarded the Rosalind Franklin Award and Lecture 2016 for her research in the cosmic microwave background and her innovative project to support and encourage girls studying physics.

Professor Lucy Carpenter was awarded the Rosalind Franklin Award and Lecture 2015 for her scientific achievement, her suitability as a role model and her project proposal to promote women in STEM.

See full list of all past winners of the Royal Society Rosalind Franklin Award and Lecture.