Kavli Medal and Lecture

Kavli Medal and Lecture winner 2021

The Kavli Medal and Lecture 2021 is awarded to Professor Magda Titirici for her outstanding contributions to advancing the sustainability of energy storage and conversion technologies by performing interdisciplinary research at the interface between electrochemistry, materials science and chemical engineering.

Professor Titirici will be awarded a medal and a gift of £1,000 at the associated prize lecture in 2022.

The award

The Kavli Medal and Lecture is now awarded annually for excellence in all fields of science and engineering relevant to the environment. The medal is of bronze gilt and is accompanied by a gift of £1,000.


The Kavli medal and lecture is open to UK/Commonwealth/Irish Republic citizens or those who have been residents for three or more years. It is restricted to early career scientists with no more than 15 years since achieving their PhD (not including career breaks) and nominations will remain valid and shall be considered by the award selection committee throughout three nomination cycles.


The call for nominations is now closed.  

Past winners

Professor Ian Chapman was awarded the Kavli Medal and Lecture 2019 for his scientific insight that has illuminated the complex physics of confined plasmas and prepared the way for fusion burn.

Professor Edward Hawkins was awarded the Kavli Medal and Lecture 2018 for his significant contributions to the understanding and quantifying natural climate variability and long-term climate change, and for actively communicating climate science and its various implications with broad audiences

Professor Henry Snaith FRS was awarded the Kavli Medal and Lecture in 2017  for his discovery and development of highly efficient perovskite solar cells which promise to dramatically increase the efficiency and reduce the cost of solar energy. 

See full list of all past winners of the Kavli Medal and Lecture