Skip to content
About the Royal Society

Recipients of 2018 APEX Awards announced

07 November 2018

The Royal Society has announced the eight researchers and their collaborators who have been awarded funding in the 2018 round of the APEX Awards

The Awards, which promote collaboration across science, engineering, social sciences and humanities, are jointly awarded by the British Academy, Royal Academy of Engineering and the Royal Society, funded by the Leverhulme Trust.

The APEX Award offers up to £100,000 to established independent researchers wanting to pursue interdisciplinary and curiosity-driven research that benefits wider society. 

The list of 2018 successful proposals and primary applicants are:

Professor Jennifer Barclay
Making sense of risk and uncertainty: narrative and metaphor in the face of volcanic activity
University of East Anglia

Dr James Burridge
Spatial theories of linguistic and cultural evolution
University of Portsmouth

Professor Fay Dowker
The Emergence of the Continuum
Imperial College of Science Technology and Medicine

Dr Andrew Duncan
Data Driven Profiling and Assessment of Conflicts in Africa
University of Sussex

Professor Andrew Hogg
New models of sediment suspensions
University of Bristol

Dr David Horsell
Hot fuzz: Bumble bee hair as a thermal metamaterial
University of Exeter

Dr Christina Lee
Nettles and Networks: New Ways to tackle Wound Infections
University of Nottingham

Dr Tom Mitchell
Exploring Molecular Data with Immersive Technology: Interactive Sonification in Virtual Reality
The University of the West of England, Bristol

Applications for the 2019 APEX Awards close on 18 December 2018.

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.