Skip to content

Open Access Membership

Open Access Membership

Our Open Access Membership helps institutions to support researchers who are mandated to publish their research using the open access model. We offer a customised approach to each membership and a commitment to transparent pricing. We will continue to offer this option alongside our Read & Publish agreements.  

The payment process is straightforward and manageable with reporting to help you keep track of your funds. Your researchers will receive up to 25% discount on article processing charges, making research grants and institutional open access funds stretch further. You’ll receive detailed reports on who from your institution is publishing with us. We’re committed to helping institutions publish as much as they can. 

Each member institution pays an annual fee based on the number of open access articles it published in the Royal Society’s journals during the previous year. Authors affiliated to member institutions then receive a 25% discount on the article processing charge for publishing in any of our journals. This allows your institution to support open access publishing, and enables authors to publish at a substantially discounted rate. 

We are committed to supporting open access, and offer institutions and authors a high level of flexibility to accommodate individual needs and requirements.

Open access agreements

Max Planck Digital Library (MPDL)

Authors at Max Planck institutions can now publish in all Royal Society journals at no cost through a new Publish and Read agreement with Max Planck Digital Library.  

Technische Informationsbibliothek (TiB)

From 1 January 2020 authors submitting to our journals from eligible institutions from Technische Informationsbibliothek (TiB) in Germany will receive a discount on their APC.

All Read & Publish agreements can be found here. Check to see if your institution is listed.

Open access members

TU Graz Austria Standard  
University of Helsinki Finland Standard  
EMBL Germany   Standard  
Leibniz Institute for Zoo and Wildlife Research (IZW) Germany   Standard  
American University of Beirut Lebanon Standard  
Groningen University (RuG) and Groningen University Medical Centre (UMCG)
Netherlands Standard  
VU University Amsterdam
Netherlands Standard   
Wageningen University & Research
Netherlands Standard   
Oslo University Norway  Standard  
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences Sweden  Standard  
University of Basel Switzerland  Standard  
University of Geneva Switzerland Standard  
Brunel University United Kingdom Standard  
Natural History Museum United Kingdom Standard
University of Glasgow United Kingdom Standard   
University of Leicester United Kingdom Standard  
Queen Mary University of London United Kingdom Standard  
Michigan State University United States of America   Standard  
MIT Libraries  United States of America   Standard   
University of Arizona  United States of America   Standard   
University of Massachusetts Amherst United States of America   Standard   
University of Minnesota United States of America   Standard   
Penn State University United States of America Standard


Tufts University United States of America   Standard  
Utah State University United States of America Standard  
Virginia Tech University United States of America   Standard   

The Royal Society is a member of OASPA, the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association.

Find out more information on how to submit an article and about publishing open access with us.

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.