Skip to content

Young People's Book Prize

Winner 2018

6,000 young people from over 350 schools and youth groups all across the UK selected Optical Illusions by by Gianni A. Sarcone and Marie-Jo Waeber as the winner of the Young People’s Book Prize 2018. The winner was announced at an exclusive award ceremony held at the W5 in Belfast. 

Professor Yadvinder Mahli FRS, chair of the adult judging panel, said, “Optical Illusions draws you in from the moment you open it. It manages to combine instant appeal of some wonderful and mind-blowing optical illusions with just the right level of explanation that explains the science behind the illusion. As such it has something for every age from 4 to 14, and indeed for adults as well. It both entertains and educates in some surprising ways, and is a worthy winner of the Young People’s Book Prize.”

The young judges said:

Annabelle, age 9, “This was amazing, I liked the cover and the wheel you could turn. I couldn't 'see' some of them, but I will keep trying! I found it very strange how your eyes and mind can play tricks on you and I liked the way the book explains how your eye works with your brain.”

Carlotta, age 11, “This book is captivating, colourful and interesting. Packed full of activities to try, Optical illusions is really fun.”

Myles, age 10, “This was my favourite. I really enjoyed the illusions and I found it interesting doing the examples in the book.”

Linus, age 9, “WOW! This was really interesting and fun!”

Congratulations to the winner and all of the 2018 shortlist!

Find out about the Royal Society Insight Investment Science Book Prize.

Shortlist 2018

About the prize

Was this page useful?
Thank you for your feedback
Thank you for your feedback. Please help us improve this page by taking our short survey.